The Houston Literary Awards are open for voting until Sept. 20

The Houston Literary Awards Gala will be held on Saturday October 19, 2019.


The results of preliminary voting are in. The five Houston authors who received the most votes and will move onto the next round of voting are:


Nkem Andrea DenChukwu

Mary Ann Faremouth

Fallon Renee Hamilton

Darrell Lee

Danielle Metcalf-Chenail


Voting will run through September 20, 2019. Vote for your favorite author, and you will also receive an e-invitation to the Houston Literary Awards Gala.


The author who receives the most votes will be named and awarded the Readers’ Choice Award at the Houston Public Library Foundation’s October 19 Houston Literary Awards Gala. To purchase tickets before they are sold out, please click here.


The Houston Literary Awards Gala is the inaugural event celebrating Houston’s accomplished authors. The Houston Public Library Foundation will feature five of the finest local authors in contemporary fiction and nonfiction whose books engage and entertain as well as deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world. The winner of the Readers’ Choice Award will join the featured authors at the event: Katherine Center, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, Annetra Piper, Roger Leslie, and Bapsi Sidhwa.


The Houston Literary Awards Gala will be held on Saturday October 19, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. in the Julia Ideson Library at 550 McKinney Street, Houston, TX 77002.


For more information or to purchase tickets, go here.