Announcing the 2023 / 2024 author lineup and program details

"As always, each new season fills us with great anticipation for all the powerful new books and visits from some of the world’s leading authors, and this season promises to be among our most memorable."


HOUSTON, TEXAS–Inprint, Houston’s premier literary arts nonprofit organization, presents the 43rd season of the 2023/2024 Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series, one of the nation’s leading literary showcases. The 2023/2024 season features nine readings with an inclusive array of 11 award-winning authors with new books–including Elizabeth Acevedo, Lauren Groff, James McBride, Jhumpa Lahiri, Tommy Orange, Zadie Smith, and Viet Thanh Nguyen –from August 2023 through April 2024. Each event includes a reading by the featured author(s) and an on-stage interview with a local writer, followed by a book sale and signing. In-person readings will typically take place on Monday evenings at 7:30 pm, with an online rebroadcast of each event available three days later. For tickets, the full schedule, and more information, visit or call 713.521.2026.


Three different season tickets are now available: a premium subscription for $450, which includes signed books by all 11 featured authors, reserved section seating, free parking, and other benefits; a premium+ subscription for $575, which provides two seats, one set of books, and all of the other premium benefits; and a classic subscription for $250,which includes signed copies of Jhumpa Lahiri’s new collection Roman Stories, Viet Thanh Nguyen’s new book A Man of Two Faces: A Memoir, A History, A Memorial, and Tommy Orange’s new novel Wandering Stars, plus other benefits. General admission tickets for individual readings are $5 (free for students and seniors), except for the Inprint Jhumpa Lahiri Reading, which includes a book purchase as part of the ticket price. General admission tickets for in-person readings and online rebroadcasts will go on sale on the Inprint website a few weeks in advance of each event.


“As always, each new season fills us with great anticipation for all the powerful new books and visits from some of the world’s leading authors, and this season promises to be among our most memorable,” says Inprint Executive Director Rich Levy. “So many great books that are probing the past, so as to better understand the present. As we did last year, we will continue to offer these events both in person and online, to continue to serve audience members in and beyond Houston."

The authors to be featured in the 2023/2024 Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series include:


*August 21, 2023 –James McBride, National Book Award winner for The Good Lord Bird and National Humanities Medal recipient, with his new novel The Heaven & Earth Grocery Store

*September 18, 2023 –Lauren Groff, bestselling author of Fates & Furies and National Book Award finalist for Matrix, with her new novel The Vaster Wilds

*October 15, 2023 –Jhumpa Lahiri, Pulitzer Prize winner for Interpreter of Maladies and Booker Prize finalist for The Lowlands,with her new collection Roman Stories

*October 30, 2023 –Viet Thanh Nguyen, Pulitzer Prize winner for his debut novel The Sympathizer, with his new book A Man of Two Faces: A Memoir, A History, A Memorial

*November 13, 2023 –Zadie Smith, international bestseller for her debut novel White Teeth and Booker Prize finalist for On Beauty, with her new novel The Fraud

*January 29, 2024 –Kaveh Akbar, acclaimed poet and editor, with his debut novel A Martyr!, and Ben Fountain, author of the National Book Critics' Circle Award-winning novel Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk with his new novel Devil Makes Three

*February 12, 2024 –Clint Smith, National Book Critics Circle Award winning author of How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America, with his new poetry collection Above Ground, and Patricia Smith, renowned poet and four-time individual National Poetry Slam champion, with her eighth collection Unshuttered

*March 25, 2024 –Tommy Orange, Pulitzer Prize finalist for his debut novel There There, with his new novel Wandering Stars

*April 15, 2024 –Elizabeth Acevedo, Young People’s Poet Laureate and author of the National Book Award winning YA novel The Poet X, with her first novel for adults Family Lore


The series is presented by Inprint, a Houston-based literary arts nonprofit organization dedicated to inspiring readers and writers. Since 1980, the Inprint Margarett Root Brown Reading Series has featured close to 400 of the world’s greatest writers from 38 countries, including winners of 12 Nobel Prizes, 70 Pulitzer Prizes, 65 National Book Awards, 54 National Book Critics Circle Awards, and 17 Booker Prizes, as well as 21 U.S. Poet Laureates. The series and Inprint receive generous underwriting support from The Brown Foundation, Inc., the National Endowment for the Arts, The Jerry C. Dearing Family Foundation, the Houston Endowment, The City of Houston through the Houston Arts Alliance, and the Texas Commission on the Arts. The series is presented in association with Brazos Boookstore and the University of Houston Creative Writing Program. Special thanks also to WinPark.